Private Session With The Game Makers

The anticipation was killing me, as I stood at the door waiting for it to open, summoning me to the Gamemakers. I had to show them my skills to receive a high score. I knew today would be the most important day of this whole preparation period before the games were to finally start. Howard, our District’s mentor who had once already won the games, told me to show everything I can. To impress the Gamemakers, I had to be different. I knew exactly what I was going to do to blow them away. Right as my anticipation was reaching its peak, the huge titanium double doors slid open and a woman wearing a black uniform gestured for me to walk in. I took a step into the large room, there were all kinds of tools, weapons, and equipment scattering across the room. Five Gamemakers sat up in a balcony above the arena. One called out from above me, “J.K. Notrowling you may begin.”

I had approximately 30 minutes to show these Gamemakers everything I had, and I wasn’t about to disappoint these five men. I beamed straight for the knives. Quickly grabbing five of them, I threw each one across the 20 foot stretch straight onto the red bull’s-eye painted onto the lifeless dummy. The Gamemakers sat up in their seats in sight of my precision. I then walked over to the obstacle course flipping and twining through the entire course in less than 3 minutes. By this point the Gamemakers were on the edges of their seats. But the show wasn’t quite over yet.

I dived into the practice pool and began to swim lap after lap, I finished about 20 within 5 minutes. My breaths were heavy but slowed very quickly as I hopped out and quickly dried myself off for my last performance.  With about 5 minutes left, I trotted over to the bow and arrow and turned on the fighting simulation. I had to show these Gamemakers I was capable of everything. The figures began appearing and I shot every single one without a single miss, like a lion pounces on a gazelle, not thinking about it, not hesitating, just doing it.  Sweat streamed down my forehead as I walked off the simulation platform. I brushed the hair out of my eyes and looked up at the Gamemakers. To my astonishment they were on their feet clapping. I looked timidly down at my feet, smiling. The woman in the black uniform returned and directed me out. When i looked back, I noticed one of the Gamemakers wink at me. Wow, just wow. I couldn’t believe I did that. A few hours later, they revealed the scores. I had scored highest out of all twenty-four tributes. An enormous ten out of ten! I have a feeling I will win this year, nothing can stand in my way of becoming this year’s victor. Nothing.

4 Comments on Private Session With The Game Makers

  1. pat4
    May 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm (10 years ago)

    I liked the way you presented the exhilaration of being in front of the game makers. The other “private session with the game makers” post I read was very timid and talked about how they were disgusted to be doing things for them. I know you’re from a career district and I believe that was portrayed well in this post.

    Reply
  2. 4lizzyt
    May 19, 2014 at 6:24 pm (10 years ago)

    I really enjoyed how much detail you put into your post about all of the things you did to show the gamemakers what you were capable of. I really enjoyed the part about them clapping after you swam 20 laps in less than 5 minutes! At the end, when you say, “wow just wow,” that sentence confused me because you were speaking in past tense the whole post but then you spoke in present tense. Besides that, everything was very well written:)

    Reply
  3. 4joem
    May 19, 2014 at 6:26 pm (10 years ago)

    This was a well written narrative with good sensory details. I like how you explained when you walked into the room through the doors. Next time I suggest used a bit more figurative language to spice things up. Also you could add a few more sensory details, even though most of your details were very creative. Overall, this was a very good narrative.

    Reply
  4. 4joem
    May 19, 2014 at 6:27 pm (10 years ago)

    This was a well written narrative with good sensory details. I like how you explained when you walked into the room through the doors. Next time I suggest used a bit more figurative language to spice things up. Also you could add a few more sensory details, even though most of your details were very creative. You did improve from before and this was very well written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply