Ladies and Gentlemen, Let the Eightieth Hunger Games Begin.

MY whole body tingled with excitement as the enclosed capsule raised me up to what would be the start of an amazing adventure. I heard the ticking begin, counting down “60, 59, 58…” There was a slight jolt as the capsule stopped and exposed me to this subtropical highland. A humid breeze sent tingles through my skin as I excitedly looked around at the wimps next to me. There was a large circle of capsules, equidistant from the large cornucopia ahead. I recognized a small red faced girl, Juanita Plumcat. She was quick and agile; I knew I had to take her out first.

A huge cornucopia sat in the middle of all the capsules where I noticed there to be a mountain of resources, like weapons, food, and most importantly; a fire starting kit. I formulated a plan within those 20 seconds remaining: I was going to sprint to the cornucopia and grab the bow and arrow. Anyone that tried to get to me would be shot. The clock rang “10, 9, 8…” I readied myself for the most important moment of my life. I was ready for this; everything I trained for, all the sweat and tears would be for this moment. “3, 2, and 1” I leaped out of my capsule and sprinted towards the cornucopia, determination in my eyes. I slid across the platform and onto the weapon stash, wear I grabbed the bow and set of 20 titanium arrows. A small boy was running up the side to me, I shot an arrow at him and bam, right in the stomach. Two more tried to reach me but I stopped them in their tracks. No one would get up to my platform.

ABOUT three quarters of the tributes ran off into the woods. 3 others were stunned, still on their capsules. I shot all three and went out to retrieve my arrows. 6, I had already killed six and I would kill more if I had to, to win the games. Sweat streamed down my forehead and my hair was painted across my face. Slowly I ran my hand through my hair and walked back over to the cornucopia. There was a back pack full of survival equipment like a fire starter, bottle of fresh water, rope, twine, and a knife. There was also a pack of throwing knives, and 3 spears. I placed the knives inside the survival pack and threw it across my back. With both the bow and spear in hand I began working my way up through the underbrush. A huge volcano burrowed its way into the sky ahead. I worked my way up to it, and decided to walk about 3 miles before setting up camp for the night. I finally reached 3 miles after a long and tiring hike up the tangles of vines and creepers. My heart was pounding; I set down my equipment, and brushed the sweat off my forehead. With a fire already started and a piece of rabbit meat (which I earlier cached) cooking on my spear I laid my back against a rock. I was ready to do anything to win these Games for my District, anything.  Let the Games begin.

3 Comments on Ladies and Gentlemen, Let the Eightieth Hunger Games Begin.

  1. shelby4
    May 20, 2014 at 5:23 pm (10 years ago)

    Overall, I think you did a good job! I especially liked how you added the countdown throughout the first paragraph since it really made me want to know what would happen after the time was up. I also liked how you added in the thoughts of your character in between the countdown. There were a few little mistakes here and there in the writing though. For example, the sentence, “I slid across the platform and onto the weapon stash, wear I grabbed the bow and set of 20 titanium arrows.” The ‘wear’ was in the wrong context. Also, there was a small typo in the first sentence. “MY whole body tingled with excitement as the enclosed capsule raised me up to what would be the start of an amazing adventure.” The ‘Y’ should have been lower-case. “I was ready to do anything to win these Games for my District, anything.” The ‘anything’ in this sentence was a little out of place. You could maybe use a ‘dot dot dot’ to continue the thought or just exclude it. Otherwise the few things (that can be fixed with a proof-read in the future), you did a very good job with your post!

    Reply
  2. 4alyssaf
    May 20, 2014 at 11:02 pm (10 years ago)

    I think that the passage was very well written and you had a lot of sensory details. I also liked your closing sentence of “let the Games begin.” There were some spelling and grammatical errors (wear instead of where) and some of your describing words didn’t really make sense (“A huge volcano burrowed its way into the sky ahead.” I think burrowed is more of a digging down kind of verb.) I also would have liked to see more of how your character was feeling. Otherwise, great job with describing things!

    Reply
  3. 4rachelbrown
    May 21, 2014 at 1:26 am (10 years ago)

    This was a very good post. I liked how you put the countdown in the first paragraph and then came back to it later, showing the reader what the countdown was for and letting them know that the games were beginning. I also really enjoyed the fierce determination that you show in this post, it was very entertaining to read. I also liked reading about you formulating all of your plans as the timer counted down. I feel like you could have described the arena a little more, instead of only giving it one quick sentence. It would have been helpful for the reader to know more about the setting you were fighting in. Overall, this was a fantastic blog post and I can’t wait to read what happens next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply